The Purpose and Goal

I am about to embark on a journey in jewelry making and I wanted a way to document my journey.  That is the main purpose of this blog, but not the only purpose.  I am not sure what it will morph into, but I am excited about the possibilities.

I have wanted to do what is called “The Year of Jewelry” where a person creates a piece of jewelry every week of the year and documents their journey.  Usually the jewelry they make is of their own designs.  For my journey, I will be doing a “Half Year of Jewelry” and I will be using tutorials that I have accumulated instead of trying to come up with my own designs.  I want this to be a freeing experience for myself to learn how to incorporate jewelry making as a regular part of my life instead of something I do when I need a gift, or when the guilt of not using my supplies bothers me.  I love making jewelry, but I seem to need a good reason to “play” instead spending that time on the endless demands that we all have in our lives.  I hope to learn new skills from the tutorials and perfect skills that I already know.  I also hope to grow in perseverance and stick with this journey to the finish line instead of quitting when things get too busy or too stressful.

I plan to start on Monday June 29, 2015 and it will end on December 27, 2015.  On each Monday I will have a new tutorial to work on for the week and I will have a finished piece of jewelry to take a picture of and post by the following Sunday.  At least that is the plan, and I hope it works, but that will be part of the learning journey that I am on…this journey of living life…learning how to not focus on the destination or my plan, but enjoy the journey with all of it’s twists and turns learning to trust the One with the ultimate plan.

Leave a Reply

