Week One Completed!

This is the first week of my Half a Year of Jewelry.  I wanted to expand my knowledge of making my own chains this week, so I chose five different tutorials from different jewelry books I have and made ten links of each tutorial.  I found the process to be challenging and rewarding.

The first chain I tried was a tutorial from Artisan Filigree by Jodi Bombardier using square wire.  It was the first time I had worked with square wire, and I found that I really enjoyed it.  I did need to be careful when using it to make sure it was straight when I made each loop, but I love how simple it is to twist and the affect that it gives to the wire.

img_8761
Completed Square Wire Chain

The second chain I made was a Regal Loop tutorial from Artisan Filigree by Jodi Bombardier and  the most challenging of the week.  It was at this point that I had to push through the frustration and persevere.  The instructions were unclear for a while, but once I finally got those, I found the pattern challenging to work in 18 gauge wire.  I messed up many times.

img_8741
Here are the ones I messed up on.  The nice links are made with 20 gauge wire and it was so much easier to work with, but I really wanted to so it with the 18 gauge just to see if I could.

I decided to wait until the next day to finish this chain and it worked out great.  I guess sometimes a fresh day is all that is needed.

img_8759
This is the completed Regal Loop Chain.  It was probably the most rewarding because of the challenge.

The third chain I made is another version of the Regal Loop tutorial from Artisan Filigree by Jodi Bombardier.  It was made with 20 gauge and beads were added.  I breezed through this one pretty quickly compared to the second one because of the difference in wire gauge.  I think the beads make it elegant.

img_8752
Completed Regal Loop Chain with Beads

The fourth chain is a Figure-of-Eight Chain tutorial from Wire Jewelry Masterclass by Abby Hook.  I had made something like this before, but wanted a brush up to make sure I remembered how to do it.  It went really quick.  The most challenging part of this tutorial is making sure you measure your wire correctly so the loops line up in the 8 shape.

img_8766
Complete Figure-of-Eight Chain

The final chain I worked on Wire Wrapped Link or a Double Wrapped Link Chain.  I had a couple of tutorials that I was going to learn this link from, but it ended up I didn’t need any tutorial after all.  I used my Wubber Small Wire-Looping Pliers and it made it so easy.  I had tried this before, but found it to be awkward at best and really frustrating in general.  I was pretty nervous about making this chain and doubted whether I would be able to complete it because of my experiences with it in the past.  However, once I picked up the pliers and got going, it came pretty easily.  It amazes me the benefit of walking away from something for a time if you are frustrated with it and then coming back to complete it without much difficulty at all.  I really need to tuck that lesson away and pull it out when needed instead of needing to learn it over and over, hopefully it will stick one day…maybe today. 🙂

img_8750
Completed Double Wrapped Chain

What a great way to begin this challenge!  Now I need to go pick next week’s tutorial, but first here is a picture recapping all the chains I learned or re-learned to make this week.

img_0003
All the chains I made this week
Leave a Reply

