Week Two (Actually) Completed

This week when choosing a tutorial to work on I wanted more of a challenge, so I thought I would do the Classic Butterfly Pendant by Nicole Hanna.  I was correct that it was a challenge, but not only in the ways I expected.

I knew it would feel a little awkward shaping the wire into something specific and weaving it with the intricacies involved in the challenge of the butterfly shape, but I was unprepared for the paralyzing fear that I had to battle to start it.  I was amazed at how the fear of failure kept me from jumping right in.  It made me not want to try it after all and to hang up the whole Half A Year of Jewelry Challenge.  It also allowed “life” to get in the way, which led to procrastination and then fear that I wouldn’t finish the pendant within the week.

I know that I can do these things because I have in the past, but the fear of the “new” concepts in the tutorials I am working on is making me doubt those abilities.  It sounds ridiculous when I say it aloud and when I read it here, but the feelings are very real in the moment.  Those are some of the feelings I am hoping to conquer with this challenge.  I know that I will get scared with different aspects of it, but I want to push through and grow in perseverance, jewelry skills, confidence, and strengthen my belief that my life doesn’t have to be controlled by fear.  I can take risks and try new things…even if things don’t turn out the way I had planned or hoped, there is victory in trying!  This week I thought I was going to be conquered, but with the Lord’s help, I became more than a conqueror.

Here is the final product of this weeks challenge…

img_0003_1_gimp
Butterfly Pendant made following a tutorial by Nicole Hanna

I am so pleased with how it turned out.  I look forward to the weeks to come, just to see what will be made and learned in the process.

Leave a Reply

