Week Five…Pressing On

The beginning of this week was hard.  It was the memorial service and the funeral arrangements for my dear friend’s husband.  Honestly, it made me want to stop everything because in comparison, everything else seemed so pointless.  Life is so precious and it is so often taken for granted.  I think I tend to take everything for granted until there is a bump in the road and then it makes me appreciate it more.  I guess that is human nature.  I don’t like the hard times, but I am thankful for them because they make me look up and see how blessed I am instead of remaining in the pits of life…pits of self pity…pits of grumbling…pits of jealousy or envy…and more.

I felt the Lord reminding me of the fact that I do have a life to live, that it will go on, and I need to live it and live it well.  So I picked a tutorial that I thought I could finish this week and resumed living my life, and I just grabbed a tissue when I needed one.

This week I chose the Spiral Woven Hoops Earring Tutorial from the book Timeless Wire Weaving by Lisa Barth.  I didn’t know how to do the weave that was required for this project, so it was a fun way to learn it.  The weave is called the Snake Weave and this version includes a bead.  This was the first time I had used beads in my wire weaving, so I was pretty excited to see how it would turn out.

I think I must have been too tired the first time I looked at the directions because it sounded like blah blah blah in my mind…or like the teacher in Charlie Brown.  Needless to say, it took me a little time at the beginning to start the weave, but once I got the hang of it, it came along quickly.  It was so pretty when I finished the weaving part on each earring.  I look forward to seeing how I can use this weave in the future…dare I say it on something that doesn’t require a tutorial…just me, beads, and the wire running free.  Well, I shouldn’t get too far ahead of myself yet. 🙂

The awkward part of this tutorial ended up being the spirals.  I am not a big fan of making spirals because I like them to be perfectly round from the center out and mine usually end up with a bit of an oval shape somewhere in it.  I was careful with these and after a couple I figured out how I could make them round.  Yaaa!  Now I just need to remember the little trick when I make them in the future. The trick I found helpful was this…

After you use your round nose pliers to make a loop and start to wrap the wire around it, there is a small kink that forms.  I found that if I used my chain nose pliers to correct the kink and then continue to wrap the wire around, then the spiral is a lot more circular.

img_8343
Small kink forming at the base of the spiral
img_8344
Spirals made without correcting the kink…notice the slight oval shape to them, and the spaces (Please excuse the tool marks, these were created quickly so I could showcase what I was talking about.)
img_8346
This is the spiral after I corrected the kink…notice how it is much more circular and it doesn’t have the gap around the beginning loop (Please excuse the tool marks, this was created quickly so I could showcase what I was talking about.)

When I finished the earrings, I didn’t quite like how my spirals looked and they didn’t match the picture in the book.  I am thankful that my husband helped me notice that I needed to put the spiral up instead of down.  So I fixed them, and am very pleased with how they turned out.

img_8335
Completed Spiral Woven Hoop Earrings
img_8336
Side View
img_8342
Close up of the Snake Weave with beads
img_8340
Close up of the spiral part of the earring

This week the lesson I learned was pressing on when it seems pointless to continue.  There is beauty in continuing the journey and I look forward to next weeks project.  I guess I need to figure out what that will be.

Leave a Reply

