Week Twelve…Life and Jewelry Making

It has been an interesting week.  I didn’t have any time Monday or Tuesday to start this weeks project…or even figure out what this weeks project was going to be.  It was a couple of days where you wake up and have stuff back to back to back to…well you get the idea. 🙂  Usually, I don’t have many of those days because they wear me out and it takes a long time to recover, but somehow I ended up with two in a row.

During the rushing around, I really missed making jewelry and want to make something which is so encouraging, because for so long I may have wanted to make something, but I was too busy to even miss it or think about it.  For me jewelry making is in the “fun” category and that is what always gets cut first.  Part of the reason I wanted to do this challenge is to change that awful habit of cutting jewelry making out of my life.  It challenges me in ways that nothing else does and so part of cutting it was a form of procrastination due to fear.  It is so much easier to not do something and avoid it than to sit down, deal with the issues, and move into the unknown.

By Wednesday I was more than ready to start making jewelry!  I had decided to do a couple of the new tutorials I had purchased.  I ended up choosing the Pavilion Pendant Tutorial and the Spring Leaf Pendant Tutorial both by Nicole Hanna.

I really enjoyed working on the Pavilion Pendant.  I don’t do many things without beads, but I love the way this turned out!  Something else interesting about working on this pendant is that for the first time I saw a way to add my own spin on the tutorial and make a different project using this tutorial.  So many people make their own spin on tutorials which is great for them, but that isn’t something that I have been able to do.  My mind tends to be very logical and a bit legalistic when it comes to making things from tutorials, so this is a really big deal for me.  I have wanted to grow in that area, but I know it isn’t something that I can force.

Here are finished pictures of the Pavilion Pendant…

img_9439
Completed Pavilion Pendant
img_9443
Completed Pavilion Pendant
img_9442
Completed Pavilion Pendant

The other tutorial I completed was the Spring Leaf Pendant.  There was a small amount of intimidation for me when I chose this tutorial because I really liked the lengthy look of it and a pendant I tried in the past that I liked for the same reason turned out more squatty than lengthy in appearance. I just took my time and things went well.  There was some confusion near the end of the tutorial, but I was able to work through it and complete the project.

Here are the finished Spring Leaf Pendant pictures…

img_9449
Completed Spring Leaf Pendant
img_9444
Completed Spring Leaf Pendant
img_9447
Completed Spring Leaf Pendant

It has been a fun and successful week in jewelry making and in life.  I have been working on decluttering my home and had a yard sale yesterday.  There was a lot of stress and work leading up to it, but it all worked out and was successful.  The best part is that in the midst of all the busyness I was able to make two beautiful pendants and it was fun!

It gives me hope for next week because I will be painting our deck.  It will be a big project, but I look forward to “sneaking” in moments to make more jewelry from some of my new tutorials.  After that it might be time to get back into the “harder” tutorials which will challenge me and teach me something new.  For now though, I am enjoying the fun in creating while I am doing challenging projects in other areas of my life.  I am so thankful to my Creator for the progress of incorporating my jewelry making into my journey of living life.  I hope you are able to have fun and create as you live your journey and may you see the Creator in your life as well.

Leave a Reply

