Week Twenty-One…From Plan A to Plan B

When the time came for me to pick the tutorial to try this week, I knew immediately which one I wanted to do.  I was really excited to try the Gnome Cab Wrap Pendant by Nicole Hanna.  I knew it would be a challenge, but I was up for it…until I realized that all of my beads were still buried from my “organizing” project that is dragging out and I didn’t have a clue where the cabochon I wanted to use was.  Well that was my “Plan A” for the week.  I was pretty deflated at this point.  I started to feel like a petulant child who wasn’t getting their way and wanted to sulk, but I quickly realized I had way too much to do, so I moved on to “Plan B”.

The tutorial I tried out this week was the Twined Pendant by Nicole Hanna.  It was a fun piece to work on.  After working on a chainmaille piece last week, I found I really enjoyed weaving the wire as opposed to working with rings.  It was nice to enjoy working on a piece and have fun with it instead of feeling stressed about how it was turning out.  There were a couple of things that I altered after I had made the pendant because I didn’t like the way they looked, but after the adjustments I am very pleased with it.

Here are some pictures of the finished pendant…

img_2292
Twined Pendant
img_2288
Twined Pendant
img_2296
Side View of Twined Pendant

Something else that I worked on this week was the flower chainmaille bracelet that I did last week.  My real project from last week was painting my bookcases for my craft room, but I put together the bracelet to have a jewelry project completed.  Because I was more focused on the bookcases I didn’t want to spend time on a clasp, so I used one I created in Week Nine.

img_2265
Flower Chainmaille Bracelet with Bell Woven Toggle Clasp

I was hesitant to use the clasp on an item I would sell because this particular clasp should have been made with closed jump rings and I didn’t have any at the time.  I was unsure of how the clasp would hold up under the stress of chainmaille, but since the bracelet was going to be mine, I could easily fix it if it broke, or I could eventually replace it with something more suitable to a chainmaille bracelet.  What I didn’t anticipate was someone seeing the bracelet and wanting to buy it.  I explained things to this person, and they said they wanted the bracelet and I could make a different clasp for it.  I ended up using a different clasp that I had also made in Week Nine.  It was the Hammered S Clasp Hook and then I used a new chain link I found recently to make a closure for it.  I am so pleased with how it turned out and feel confident it will hold up under the stress of chainmaille!

Here are some pictures of the flower chainmaille bracelet with the new clasp and after it has been oxidized…

img_2276
Oxidized Flower Chainmaille Bracelet
img_2273
Oxidized Flower Chainmaille Bracelet with New Clasp

 

img_2271
Oxidized Flower Chainmaille Bracelet
2 thoughts on “Week Twenty-One…From Plan A to Plan B

  1. Wow, I love your blog and your work. I think I need to purchase some wire wrap tutorials. Sounds like Nicole ‘s would be prefect. What do you think?

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! I definitely recommend Nicole Hanna’s jewelry tutorials. They have very clear directions and pictures to go with each step. I have many good tutorials, but hers are my favorite so far.

      Like

Leave a Reply

