Week Twenty-Three…Worry and Getting Faster

This week I started off with two large projects.  One was a special order and the other my project of the week.  Now in my mind both of these projects were complex and would take a lot of time to complete.  I was tempted to choose something easier to work on for my project for this challenge, but my challenge is winding down and I want to finish well, so I stuck with it, but it wasn’t easy.

Early in the week, it seemed if I wasn’t working on my jewelry projects I was worrying about my projects not getting accomplished.  It was quite maddening to say the least.  Have you ever had a nagging sense of worry about something?  I do and this week it was these projects.  It is a bit embarrassing to admit, but for about half a day I avoided them because I was worried I couldn’t do the projects and I would mess them up.  Sigh, I am so thankful the Lord helped to pull me out of that worry and doubting mess because the fact is I could do the projects…I was just focusing on the wrong things.  Our minds are wonderful and complex things and when we let worry or other negative thoughts start to take over we can get trapped pretty quickly and it is very hard to get out.

I got to the middle of the week and things finally clicked fully into place.  I determined a time that I would work on one of my projects and I made myself sit there and work on it even though I found myself wanting to stop and work on something else several times.  (Yes, I tend to have attention issues and am easily distracted, but I manage…most of the time. 🙂 )

So, I made myself sit there continuing to work and would you believe I was finished much quicker than I thought possible.  I was in a small state of shock that I finished.  Sometimes in my mind the more complex projects are like a theater production to be accomplished in different “acts” broken down over the week.  This week I didn’t have the luxury of breaking things down if I was going to accomplish what I hoped to.

After I recovered from the shock of finishing the first project I moved onto my project for this weeks challenge.  I chose to do the Woven Stacking Bracelet which is a tutorial found in Fine Art Wire Weaving by Sarah Thompson.  I think it is a great book for anyone who wants to take their wire weaving to the next level.  If you are completely new to wire weaving I don’t recommend it as a beginner book unless you are ready for a challenge.

Anyway, when I started my Woven Stacking Bracelet I started with a large strip doing the Modified Soumak Weave with four base wires.  I have done this weave in other bracelets in Week Eight and Week Fourteen, so I knew it was going to take some time to accomplish the amount of weaving I needed to do.  Well, I was in for quite a surprise once I started.  I was weaving neatly…and wait for it…QUICKLY.  I was so amazed.  I guess I finally found the groove required for that weave to go fast like I have seen others do in different videos.

My speed of wire wrapping is something that I have struggled with during my wire journey because I want to make things to sell, but it can be hard to charge a fair price and pay for my time on more complex projects.  It can also be discouraging when I fall into the comparison trap and see people posting pictures on Facebook of the three wire projects that they made that day…when it would have taken me all week.  I guess I need to remember all the other factors…those projects might be all they did that day and jewelry is their primary focus.  My primary focus or “job” is the running of my household and jewelry is something I am incorporating into that, so my time will naturally be spent differently.  The Lord has been helping me not get caught up into the comparison trap like I used to by focusing on my own journey in life and for this challenge my own journey in wire.  It is not an easy thing to do, but I have found it to be possible with His help and I am so much happier and more productive when I am living my life instead of watching someone else live theirs.

My bracelet for this week came together pretty nicely and quickly.  The only snag I ran into was when I was assembling the bracelet, but I worked through it.

Here are some pictures of the Woven Stacked Bracelet…

img_2519
Woven Stacked Bracelet
img_2522
Woven Stacked Bracelet
img_2523
Woven Stacked Bracelet
img_2521
Clasp of Woven Stacked Bracelet

 

 

I oxidized my projects from the past couple of weeks, so here are pictures of the Candle Flame Pendant from last week…

img_2530
Oxidized Candle Flame Pendant From Week Twenty-Two
img_2528
Oxidized Candle Flame Pendant From Week Twenty-Two

 

I am looking forward to my jewelry project for Week Twenty-Four…I think I am going to play around with my soldering stuff for the first time.  We will see how that turns out.  I hope you have a blessed week!

 

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty-Three…Worry and Getting Faster

  1. I’ve never seen your blog before tonight, but I’m so happy to have found you! I too, long to be a wire weaver, but I’m still in the very early learning curve. I typically choose projects that are too ambitious for my ability and then end in disappontment and frustration. Thanks for the (re) inspiration.

    Like

    1. I am glad that you are inspired by my experiences in wire wrapping. I tend to be the opposite of you in that I usually pick projects that I am pretty sure I can do. I have liked to play it safe in general, but I am learning how to take some risks into the unknown. It has been a bit of a scary journey, but well worth it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

