October 2016 Jewelry Challenge Week #2…Fun with Swirls

This has been one of those hard weeks where it seems like very little is going right.  It wasn’t so much big things that were going wrong, but all the little things that we can take for granted.  An example would be that opening my cold coffee would result in an open container of coffee…not coffee all over me, the counter, and under the refrigerator.  Or when trying a new recipe for dinner it would actually be edible if not tasty…however when you add baking soda to cut the acidity and it reacts with the vinegar in the dish, dinner looks more like a science experiment rather than something to eat.  By the way, I don’t recommend using baking soda to cut the acidity in any dish…unless you enjoy the flavor of baking soda that is. 🙂  So since normal life seemed to be going haywire for no apparent reason other than to widdle away at my sanity, I was a little concerned about working with wire this week.  Emotions play a big part in my jewelry making process and if I am upset things generally don’t turn out very neat and tidy…and let’s face it I LOVE neat and tidy work.

There is something about working with wire that is usually calming and sparks great joy.  This week was one of those times when I was working with wire and things just seemed right. I love that feeling and I am thankful when the Lord provides those moments when all seems well.  I want to grab a hold of them and be able to relive them all the time, but it isn’t possible.  I am learning to just be present in those moments and not worry about how long they will last so I don’t miss the gift of that moment.  Is there something that helps you feel moments of “all is well”?  It is a great thing to have in this world when so much seems to be chaotic and full of pain.

Before I run too far away on a tangent, let’s get back to my jewelry project for the week.  The theme for this week was  “swirls”.  I haven’t included many swirls in my pieces mostly because I have been uncertain with twisting the wire weaves and I can struggle with making neat swirls with bare wire.  I wanted to make a pendant with swirls made out of a section of woven wire.  I was uncertain how I would go about it, but once I got started it was actually really fun.  I decided to do a full strand of the swirls and use it in place of the woven beaded strand that I really like using in my pieces.

Here are some picture of the final results…

img_5125_colorfix-3
Swirl Pendant
img_5127
Swirl Pendant
img_5209_stack
Swirl Pendant-Right Side View
img_5289_stack
Swirl Pendant-Left Side View

I think it turned out really cute.  It is a smaller piece than I tend to make which I actually prefer when choosing something to wear.  However I find when I am making a piece I really love weaving and sometimes it is hard to stop. 🙂  I am finding balance in this.

I can tell that my confidence has really grown in my jewelry making skills along with my actual abilities.  When I did my six month challenge last year I would fret over whether I could make a piece of jewelry a week and I would spend time each day on the piece and eventually finish it up, but it could be a stressful thing.  Now I am making pieces without tutorials and I am not concerned about finishing.  I have learned that I will most likely be able to finish things up relatively quickly and that is such a great feeling.  I am so thankful for the growth in this area and it makes jewelry making a much more enjoyable experience.  I have several projects that I am working on at present and it keeps me from making jewelry full time, but I am looking forward to the time when I can.

This is the halfway point of my October challenge.  I am enjoying experimenting with different kinds of techniques or categorizes rather than just trying to make a piece a week.  It has been a new learning experience and I am thankful for it.  Well, I guess this is good bye for now.  I hope you have a blessed week that is full of good moments even if life seems to be hitting really hard in general.

Leave a Reply

